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This newsletter is not intended to provide legal advice to the reader. Legal opinions or interpretations of statutes and regulations referenced should ee sought fro  legal professionals. 

Department of Business & Industry                                                                                           
A Publication of the Workers’ Compensation Section  

Mileage  
Reimbursement Change 

for 2020 Nevada is a state that has lifetime reopening rights for certain 
workers’ compensation claims.  Nevada Revised Statutes 
(NRS) 616C.390 describes the process and circumstances in 
which an injured employee may request their claim be reo-
pened for further medical treatment and possible benefits.  
 
The WCS often receives inquiries and requests for assistance 
from injured employees or attorneys representing them con-
cerning issues they are experiencing when attempting to reo-
pen a claim. NRS 616C.390 requires the injured employee to 

request the reopening of a claim in writing. The first hurdle they may face is determin-
ing where and to whom the request should be sent. Even if the injured employee has 
retained documentation regarding the claim and the original claims administrator, the 
physical file may no longer be housed with the original insurer or TPA. The original 
insurer or TPA may not be in the same location or even still be operating in Nevada. 
Often the claim has been closed for years and may even have been sent to an off-site 
storage location. In many cases, the biggest challenge centers around locating the  
physical claim file.   
 
The issue becomes more challenging when the employer has changed insurers or TPAs 
and the physical claim file was not transferred to the new insurer or TPA. The failure to 
properly transfer the claim file often leaves the whereabouts of the claim file unknown; 
this may lead to unnecessary litigation, administrative fines and/or benefit penalties and, 
understandably, complaints from injured employees. 
 
To help address these situations, WCS adopted Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) 
616B.014, (effective 9/9/2016) which sets out the duties of the involved parties when 
claims are being transferred from one TPA/insurer to another TPA/insurer.  These re-
quirements must be followed by the sending and receiving parties when claims are 
transferred.  Failure to adhere to these requirements may lead to administrative action up 
to and including fines against any violating party.  Additionally, the receiving party may 
find that reviewing the files upon receipt may be helpful.  This ensures that missing 
claim documents and other information can be identified and requested, and the request 
documented, before they are “lost.”  
 
(continued on page 2) 

Missing Claim Files Delay Claim Reopening 

Per NAC 616C.150, reimbursement 
for the cost of transportation for an 
injured employee, under appropriate 
conditions, must be computed at a 
rate equal to the mileage allowance 
for State employees.  

Effective January 1, 2020, the stand-
ard mileage reimbursement rate for 
transportation costs incurred while 
using a private vehicle while travel-
ing on official State business has 
decreased from 58 cents per mile to 
57.5 cents per mile.  

Please advise all adjusters as soon as 
possible to minimize any payment 
errors.  
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(continued from page 1) 
 

NAC 616B.014  Transfer of file of claim; duties of insurer or 
third-party administrator who transfers or receives file. (NRS 
616A.400, 616B.021)  

 
Moreover, the Administrator of the Division of Industrial Relations 
and the Commissioner of the Division of Insurance jointly regulate 
workers’ compensation insurers and TPAs and require that claims offices and locations 
of records be reported and kept current with these agencies.  These requirements are set 
forth in various statutes and regulations.  Insurers and TPAs maintain this information 
in the CARDS web portal for compliance with the Division of Industrial Relations us-
ing the “Insurer Information Form” and the “Third Party Administrator Information 
Form.”  For more information about submitting this information in CARDS, visit our 
Insurer/TPA Reporting Information page on our website at http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/
Insurer-TPA_Reporting/.  

As always, if you need assistance with these and other matters concerning Nevada 
Workers’ Compensation, please contact 702-486-9080 or 775-684-7270 or email: 
WCSHelp@business.nv.gov. 

Nevada Revised Statute (NRS) 618.445 
is the Nevada Occupational Safety and 
Health Administration’s whistleblower 
law.  NRS 618.445 covers employees 
who believe they have been retaliated 
against by their employer for engaging 
in activities related to workplace safety 
and health.   
 
What activities are protected under 
NRS 618.445? 
 
NVOSHA’s whistleblower statute is 
limited to activities related to workplace 
safety and health.  This includes filing a 
complaint with NVOSHA or another 
agency that addresses workplace safety 
and health, participating in an 
NVOSHA inspection, reporting work-
place safety and/or health concerns to 
management, refusing to perform an 
unsafe work task, and reporting a work-
place illness or injury.  NVOSHA has 
seen an increase in complaints involv-
ing reporting a workplace illness or 
injury.   
 
What is retaliation? 
 
Retaliation is akin to revenge.  Retalia-
tion is when an employer takes an ad-
verse action against an employee be-
cause the employee engaged in (or is 
perceived to have engaged in) an activi-
ty related to workplace safety and 
health.  Examples of an adverse action 
include termination, lay off, demotion, 
reduced hours, suspension, written dis-
cipline, reassignment, or harassment.     
 
What remedies can I seek? 
 
Remedies provided for under the whis-
tleblower statute include reinstatement, 
lost wages and work benefits.  Work 
benefits is not further defined in the 
law, but would include items such as 
retirement or health insurance benefits.  
The most common remedy recouped is 
lost wages.   
 
How do I file a complaint? 
 
Employees or former employees may 
file a complaint online by visiting whis-
tleblowers.gov, by visiting a local 
NVOSHA office, or by calling the 
NVOSHA Whistleblower complaint 
line (toll free) at 1-877-671-0003.   

Nevada Occupational 
Safety and Health         

Administration 
(NVOSHA)                 

Whistleblower Law 

The Nevada Board of Continuing Legal Education has accredited the WCS Basic Ori-
entation training for two general CLE credits. Nevada attorneys and judges who attend 
the Basic Orientation should note that credits for the two-hour training are general cred-
its only and do not count for CLE ethics or substance abuse credit. To obtain the credit, 
interested Basic Orientation attendees need to complete a certification form provided at 
the training which requires listing their Bar number. WCS staff will send the completed 
form to the Nevada Board of Continuing Legal Education for processing. Currently, the 
Basic Orientation is tentatively slated to be offered in 2020 on March 26th and October 
15th. Anyone interested in workers’ compensation training should sign up on the WCS 
email list for the latest class notifications, and schedule changes:  
https://hal.nv.gov/form/DIRnvgov/EMAIL_ENROLLMENT_REQUEST  

Missing Claim Files Delay Claim Reopening 

Kids’ Chance of Nevada Give Back Program 
EMPLOYERS, who is a National Sponsor and a sponsor of Kids’ Chance of Nevada, 
worked with 375 of its appointed agents across the country on its inaugural matching 
holiday giveback program and raised $108,300 that will go to Kids’ Chance local chap-
ters throughout most of the United States.  
“We’re so grateful for our agents stepping up to help us provide a gift to an organiza-
tion close to our heart,” said Ray Wise, EMPLOYERS SVP, and Chief Sales Officer. 
“Our agents across the nation were so happy to be a part of this program. This donation 
from EMPLOYERS and our appointed agents will continually help ease the burden of 
families whose loved ones were seriously hurt, or died, at work.” 
The match-back program ran from October 17th, 2019 to February 29th, 2020 and for 
every 3 new small business accounts the appointed agents bound, EMPLOYERS 
matched with a $100 donation to the local Kids’ Chance chapter in the agency’s name. 
Kids’ Chance’s vision is to provide children affected by a parent’s work-related injury 
or death an opportunity to pursue their educational dreams without financial burden. 
For EMPLOYERS, it was a no-brainer to get involved with the organization, and be-
come a proud national sponsor.  
“We try to get people back to work and to restore them to their pre-accident condition 
to the best of our ability,” said Jim Werbeckes, EMPLOYERS Vice President of Gov-
ernment and Regulatory Affairs and Kids’ Chance of Nevada Board member. “Some 
folks won’t get back and some folks, their parents passed away. As we go forward, 
we’re going to be more involved in other states we do business in and try to expand 
Kids’ Chance footprint in those states.” 
 
If you know of a student this program could help, please contact Kids Chance of Neva-
da at info@kidschanceofnevada.org or call (702) 381-3850. 

Basic Orientation Offers CLE Credits 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-616B.html#NAC616BSec014
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-616B.html#NAC616BSec014
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616A.html#NRS616ASec400
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616A.html#NRS616ASec400
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616B.html#NRS616BSec021
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Insurer-TPA_Reporting/
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Insurer-TPA_Reporting/
mailto:WCSHelp@business.nv.gov.
https://hal.nv.gov/form/DIRnvgov/EMAIL_ENROLLMENT_REQUEST
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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQs)  

COLAs for Permanent Total Disability (PTD) and Survivors’ Benefits Claims  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Why should insurers submit claims that qualify for  
the annual COLA to DIR for verification?  
 
Insurers may request reimbursement from the DIR  
for the additional cost associated with the COLA increase 
 for certain claims. Before DIR will authorize  
reimbursement, it must be established that the COLA has 
been calculated correctly. Since the COLA is a percentage 
increase (2.3%) above the monthly benefit rate, DIR must 
confirm that the insurer calculated the monthly benefit rate 
(66 2/3% of the Average Monthly Wage) correctly to begin 
with. The verification process is to ensure that the monthly 
benefit rate before applying the COLA is accurate. The 
sooner the claim is verified by DIR, the more likely it is 
that the injured worker or their dependents will receive the 
correct monthly amount and the insurer will ultimately be 
able to be appropriately reimbursed the additional cost asso-
ciated with the COLA by DIR.  
 
How should insurers pay the increase required by the 
COLA if the monthly benefit is currently paid by an an-
nuity?  
 
PTD and Survivors’ benefits claims that are paid by annui-
ties are subject to the annual increase required by NRS 
616C.473 (PTD) and NRS 616C.508 (Survivors). Insurers 
are responsible for ensuring the additional amount associ-
ated with the increase is paid timely to the injured worker 
or survivors. This may be accomplished by an additional 
payment each month directly from the insurer or the insur-
er may purchase a separate annuity to cover the cost asso-
ciated with the COLA.  
 
Are COLAs that are paid by separate annuities eligible 
for reimbursement?  
 
Yes, if the COLA is eligible pursuant to NRS 616C.508(3) 
or NRS 232.680(4)(g) (as amended by SB 377), then it is 
reimbursable, regardless of the method of payment. The 
insurer, however, must provide proof to DIR that the CO-
LA payments were made to the claimant by the annuity 
company just as they would if they were to make the pay-
ments themselves directly to the claimant when requesting 
reimbursement.  
 
Do PTD or Survivors’ benefits claims with stipulated set-
tlements (legal agreements specifying dollar amounts 
and/or the timing of payments to be made) qualify for the 
COLA?  
 
Yes, all PTD and Survivors’ benefits claims qualify for the 
COLA pursuant to NRS 616C.473 and NRS 616C.508.  
 
If PTD or Survivors’ benefits are ordered to be paid bi-
weekly instead of monthly, how should the COLA formu-
la be applied?  
 
The COLA should be calculated and applied to each bi-
weekly payment to ensure the 2.3% annual increase is at-
tained 

Is there an additional, separate payment due to survivors 
related to the “catch-up” calculation?  
 
No. The “catch-up” calculation is not a payment. There is 
no pre-January 1 2020 payment associated with the “catch
-up.” It is strictly a calculation that must be made prior to 
applying the 2.3% increase (COLA) to the January 2020 
monthly payment. Example: a Survivors’ Benefit claim 
with a date of injury before 1/1/1989 and subject to the 
2.3% catch up compounded 3 times would look like this: 
Monthly Rate: $1000 Monthly Rate after catch-up calcula-
tion: $1070.60 Monthly Rate after catch-up calculation 
and applying 2.3% COLA in Jan 2020: $1095.22 Decem-
ber 2019 Monthly Payment: $1000 January 2020 Monthly 
Payment: $1095.22 Reimbursable Amount: $1095.22 - 
$1070.60 = $24.62/month (Cost attributable to the COLA 
only)  
 
Are the ‘catch-up” calculations required for both PTD 
and Survivors’ benefits claims?  
 
No, the “catch-up” calculations only apply to certain Sur-
vivors’ benefits claims pursuant to Secs. 5 and 6 of AB 
370  
 
Should the COLA be calculated based on the PTD or 
Survivors’ benefit monthly rate he or she is actually paid 
each month after offsets are applied?  
 
 No. The COLA should be calculated based on the claim-
ant’s monthly rate: • Prior to applying offsets (PPD or sub-
rogation), and • After applying any other legislatively 
mandated increases.  
 
Am I allowed to increase the 10% PPD offset on those 
claims on which we are currently recovering PPD lump 
sum settlements (PPD offsets)?  
 
We are not aware of any statutory or regulatory prohibi-
tion precluding an insurer from increasing the ten percent 
(10%) PPD offset up to 10% of the new increased monthly 
rate when the COLA is calculated and paid.  
 
How does COLA effect my assessment?  
 
Expenses related to COLA payments should be included 
as part of reported claims expenditures and are included in 
the calculation of the assessment for each insurer. Begin-
ning in 2021, there will be a separate assessment to all 
insurers for COLAs authorized under AB370 and SB377 
of the 2019 Legislative Session. Also beginning in 2021, 
insurers will be eligible for reimbursement of certain  
COLA payments made pursuant to AB370 and SB377 
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Reporting requirements in Nevada can be confusing with multiple state agencies having regulatory authority over 
the workers’ compensation system.  This edition of “Reporting Reminders” identifies the “Who? What? Where? 
When? and How?” of the most common reports required of insurers and TPAs. 
 
Department of Business & Industry (B&I) 
Division of Industrial Relations/Workers’ Compensation Section (WCS) 
wcsra@business.nv.gov - (702) 486-9080 
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Insurer-TPA_Reporting/  
 

 
 
Department of Business & Industry (B&I) – Fiscal Unit  
(Division of Industrial Relations) 
Bi-fiscalunit@business.nv.gov - (775) 684-7077 
http://dir.nv.gov/home/Assessments/ 
 

(continued on page 6) 

Purpose Report/Form Title Frequency/Method Who Reports? 

Update Contacts/TPA 
Relationships 

Insurer Information Form Annually upon request & within 30 
days of changes/CARDS Portal 

All Insurers  
(Active and Decertified) 

Update Contacts TPA Information Form Annually upon request & within 30 
days of changes/CARDS Portal 

All Third-Party Administrators 
(TPAs) 

Claims Reporting 
(NRS 616B.018) 

D-38 Claims Indexing Within 30 days of acceptance or 
denial of reportable claim and with-
in 30 days of reporting triggers/
CARDS Portal or FTP (paper forms 
are not accepted) 

All Insurers  
(Active and Decertified) 

Occupational Disease 
Claims (NRS 617.357) 

OD-8 Form Occupational 
Disease Claim Report 

Within 30 days of acceptance or 
denial of reportable claim & within 
30 days of reporting triggers/Email, 
Fax or USPS 

All Insurers  
(Active and Decertified) 

 Occupational Disease 
Claim – Statement of 
Inactivity 

Annually within 5 business days of 
end of calendar year/Email, Fax or 
USPS 

All Insurers (Active) that had no 
reportable claims in the prior 
calendar year. 

Claims Reporting Fiscal Year (FY) Claims 
Activity Report 

Annually upon request for fiscal 
year (7/1 - 6/30)/Email 

All Insurers (Active and Decerti-
fied) 

FY Statement of Inactivi-
ty 

Annually upon request for fiscal 
year (7/1 – 6/30)/Email 

All Insurers (Active) that had no 
claims activity during the prior 
fiscal year. 

Policy Data 
(NRS 616B.461  
& NAC 616B.100-148) 

Proof Of Coverage 
(POC) 

Within 15 days of issuance of new 
policy, cancellation, nonrenewal, 
reinstatement or other policy trans-
actions/electronically to NCCI 
(WCPOLS) 

Private Insurers actively writing 
Nevada workers’ comp policies 

Purpose Report Title Frequency/Method Who Reports? 

Assessments: 
Workers’ Compensation 
and Safety Fund 

Summary of Claims  
Expenditures 

Biannually/Email or 
USPS 

Self-Insured Employers and Associations 
of Self-Insured Employers (Active and 
Decertified) 

Summary of Premium Earned 
and Claims Expenditures 

Biannually/Email or 
USPS 

Private Insurers 

WCS MISSION STATEMENT  

The purpose of the Workers’ Compensation Section is to impartially serve the interests of Nevada employers and employees 
by providing assistance, information, and a fair and consistent regulatory structure focused on:  
 

   Ensuring the timely and accurate delivery of workers' compensation benefits.      

   Ensuring employer compliance with the mandatory coverage provisions.  

mailto:wcsra@business.nv.gov
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Insurer-TPA_Reporting/
mailto:Bi-fiscalunit@business.nv.gov
http://dir.nv.gov/home/Assessments/
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(continued from page 5) 
 

Department of Business & Industry (B&I) 
Division of Insurance 
Self-Insured Workers’ Compensation 
schoma@doi.nv.gov - (775) 687-0700/Toll Free (888) 872-3234 
http://doi.nv.gov/Self-Insured/ 
 

 
 
Department of Taxation 
Insurance Tax Examiner 
premiumtax@tax.state.nv.us - (775) 684-2130/Toll Free Call Center (866) 962-3707 
https://tax.nv.gov/Forms/Insurance_Premium_Tax_Forms/ 
https://tax.nv.gov/FAQs/Insurance_Premium_Tax___FAQ%E2%80%99s/ 
 

 

Purpose Report/Form Title Frequency/Method Who Reports? 

Annual Claims  
Reporting: 
NAC 616B.460 

Annual Claims Information  
Report 

Annually by 9/30 - Separate form for 
Active or Inactive Employers/Email 

Self-Insured Employers 

Certification of Claims  
Administration 

Annually by 9/30 – to be included 
with the Annual Claims Information 
Report/Email 

TPAs and Self-Insured Em-
ployers self-administering 
claims 

Financial  
Statements: 
NRS 616B.336 

Audited Financials Annually within 120 days after the 
end of the employer’s fiscal year 

Self-Insured Employers 
(Active) 

TPA Changes: 
NAC 616B.448(3) 

Change in Claims  
Administrator 

Notification prior to effective date of 
change 

Self-Insured Employers 
(Active and Inactive) 

Insolvency Assess-
ment: 
NRS 616B.309, 
NAC 616B.478 

Insolvency Assessment Annually by 9/30 Self-Insured Employers 
(Active) 

Excess Insurance: 
NRS 616B.300(5), 
NAC 616B424(4),  

Evidence of Excess Insurance Before expiration of current policy Self-Insured Employers 
(Active) 

Complete copy of policy of  
excess insurance 

Within 60 days of effective date of 
policy 

Self-Insured Employers 
(Active) 

Annuity Reporting: 
NAC 616B.471 

List of Annuities Purchased Annually by 9/30 Self-Insured Employers 
(Active and Inactive) 

Copy of Agreements Within 10 days within agreement 
effective date 

Self-Insured Employers 
(Active and Inactive) 

Purpose Report Title Frequency/Method Who Reports? 

Premium Tax: 
Industrial Insurance 
(Workers’  
Compensation) 

Quarterly Industrial  
Insurance Return 

Quarterly/Email or USPS Private Insurers writing workers’ com-
pensation insurance in Nevada that re-
ported $2000 or more premium tax for all 
lines of insurance combined in the prior 
year are required to file quarterly. 

Annual Reconciliation  
Industrial Insurance Return 

Annually/Email or USPS 
(Include copy of 
“Summary of Calculations 
for Insurer’s Estimated 
Annual Assessment” from 
Department of Business & 
Industry/Division of  
Industrial Relations) 

All Private Insurers writing workers’ 
compensation insurance in Nevada. 

mailto:schoma@doi.nv.gov
http://doi.nv.gov/Self-Insured/
mailto:premiumtax@tax.state.nv.us
https://tax.nv.gov/Forms/Insurance_Premium_Tax_Forms/
https://tax.nv.gov/FAQs/Insurance_Premium_Tax___FAQ%E2%80%99s/


Congratulations to Alma Johnson, formerly a Compliance/Audit Investigator in the Employer Compliance Unit, on 
her promotion to a Management Analyst II with the Department of Health and Human Services.  Alma began her 
DIR career just 4 years ago in OSHA, and was promoted a short time later to WCS as an Administrative Assistant 
III. As an AAIII, Alma played a key role during the transition and development of our new Web site and as the coor-
dinator of our annual Workers’ Compensation Educational Conference attended by hundreds of industry stakehold-
ers each year. Ultimately, she was promoted to investigator in the Employer Compliance Unit. Alma worked dili-
gently to ensure employer compliance and employee safety while conducting  hundreds of investigations during her 
career.  She will be greatly missed! Congratulations Alma! 

Congratulations Cynthia Hernandez, who was promoted to Compliance Audit Investigator I in the Employer Compli-
ance Unit’s Southern office, effective February 10, 2020.  Previously, she worked as an Administrative Assistant III 
for the Southern District Manager and the Chief Administrative Officer of the Workers’ Compensation Section. Cyn-
thia has also worked in the Medical Unit where she helped train medical providers and TPA’s in how to use multiple 
resources, including the online Coverage Verification Service, to locate workers’ compensation coverage for injured 
workers. She is looking forward to great experiences in her new position.  
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Robin Hoodie Project Update 
Happy New Year! Thank you to everyone who donated to Robin Hoodie Drive. This time around, DIR collaborated with friends and 
family from the City Clerk’s office, Adam Kutner’s Law office and Toro Taxes to collect approximately 400 hoodies for Myrtle 
Tate students. Mr. McCollins, aka Santa, and the Nellis Fire Rescue team provided toys and goodies to special education students. In 
addition, Mr. Kutner’s office donated 400 treat bags and every kindergartner and first grader received a toy from Santa. It was a 
special year filled with lots of generosity. The Tate Tigers were roaring with joy! Thank you to all, for your contributions and time. 
Together we made a difference!  
Angelia Yllas Chief Compliance Audit Investigator Southern District Manager  

 

Welcome Karen Adams, one of the two Administrative Assistants II, in the Las Vegas Workers’ Compensation  Medi-
cal Unit. Prior to coming to WCS, Karen worked in the Department of Public Safety (DPS) Parole and Probation. Dur-
ing her time there, she was selected to assist in opening a new satellite office where she spent her remaining time. Ka-
ren counts the experience as one of the most gratifying of her career knowing she helped the office run smoothly from 
day one. On her off time, she enjoys crafts, volunteering, gardening and hanging out with her pets.  She 
has 3 rescue dogs and 3 rescue cats. 

Welcome Nicole Rush, also an Administrative Assistant II in the Las Vegas Workers’ Compensation Medical Unit. Prior 
to working for the State of Nevada, Nicole worked in administration for several years.  Nicole moved from California 4 
years ago. She loves spending time with her family and friends as well with her 2 dogs and 2 cats. Nicole is thrilled to 
start her new journey as an Administrative Assistant II with the Las Vegas WCS team.  

Self Insured Employers Subsequent Injury Board Opening 

The Board for the Administration of the Subsequent Injury Account for Self-Insured Employers is still looking for a new member 
and currently has one opening.  
  
In order to serve on the Self-Insured Employers Board, one must be employed by an entity who meets the self-insured criteria for 
workers’ compensation set forth in NRS 616A.305.   
  
The members of the Board typically meet once per month to make determinations regarding claims for reimbursement from the Sub-
sequent Injury Account according to criteria set forth out in the statutes and regulations and to discuss other Board-related issues.  
  
Members are appointed by the Governor and hold a 2-year term commencing on July 1 of each odd-numbered year and serve without 
compensation.  Anyone interested in applying for membership can find the application forms at http:// gov.nv.gov/Board/
Application/.  If appointed, the Governor will notify the applicant by mail of their appointment date and period. 
  
Questions may be directed to the Boards and Commissions office at boards@gov.nv.gov.  

Hoodies collected for the children of 
Myrtle Tate Elementary  

WCS employees and Myrtle Tate  
staff pose with Santa Claus 

Myrtle Tate Elementary students 
waiting their turn to speak to Santa  

WCS employees and Myrtle Tate 
staff  

http://gov.nv.gov/Board/Application/
http://gov.nv.gov/Board/Application/
mailto:boards@gov.nv.gov.
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Classes taught live in  
S O U T H E R N  N E V A D A  

3360 West Sahara Avenue, Suite 250  
Las Vegas, Nevada 89102 

 krissi.garcia@business.nv.gov  
(702) 486-9105 

 

Classes taught via video conference 
in  

N O R T H E R N  N E V A D A  
400 West King Street, Suite 400  

Carson City, Nevada 89703  
(775) 684-7265 

To view or register for classes: 
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Training/ 

 

Basic Orientation 
POSTPONED TBD 

 

The following classes taught live in  
S O U T H E R N  N E V A D A  

555 East Washington Avenue,  
Las Vegas, Nevada 89101 

 
via video conference in  

N O R T H E R N  N E V A D A  
401 South Carson Street  

Carson City, Nevada 89701 
 

Online viewing at 
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/

Calendar/A/  
 

C-4 Process & Using CVS 
POSTPONED TBD 

Medical Billing 
POSTPONED TBD 

 

Delving into the D-35 
5/13/2020 at 1:30 pm 

Direct comments or suggestions 
about this newsletter to:  
  

Workers’ Compensation Section  
Las Vegas Office  
Ruth Ryan, Editor  
Krissi Garcia, Assistant Editor 
(702) 486-9105 
 

rryan@business.nv.gov 
krissi.garcia@business.nv.gov 

A big welcome to Hayley Weedn, the new Business Pro-
cess Analyst with the Division of Industrial Relations, 

Workers’ Compensation Section in the Las Vegas office. 
Hayley previously worked as a Compliance Investigator 

and Program Analyst for 4 years at the State of Oregon’s 
Government Ethics Commission. She also holds a law 

degree and a certificate in public management. She’s 
originally from Oklahoma and has lived in Texas, Wash-
ington and Oregon before moving to Nevada in August. 

Outside of work,  she loves to spoil her Corgi, travel and 
explore the outdoors.  

Congratulations Obdulia “Julie” Gaytan, the new Ad-
ministrative Assistant II in the Las Vegas Workers’ Com-
pensation Employer Compliance Unit, who replaced 
Joshua Swartzbaugh. Prior to her current position, she 
was the D-35/C4 Coordinator for the Medical Unit. Julie 
has worked with the State of Nevada since 2014 where 
she began as an Administrative Assistant Aid in the Divi-
sion of Welfare. She also worked for the Division of Pub-
lic Safety and Parole and Probation as an Administrative 
Assistant I. She is working on her Bachelor’s Degree in 
Human Services. In her free time she enjoys spending 
time with her family and Shih Tzu/ Maltese pup watching 
movies and soccer.  

Best wishes to long time WCS employee  Red Blacic.  In 
December, Red accepted the position of Ombudsman 

with the Office For Consumer Health Assis-
tance (OCHA), Nevada Department of Health and Hu-

man Services.  OCHA assists consumers of healthcare 
and injured workers with understanding their rights and 

responsibilities under various health care plans and indus-
trial insurance policies.  Red’s knowledge of workers’ 
compensation and medical billing will enable her to edu-

cate and advocate for Nevada’s injured workers and con-
sumers of healthcare.  Her DIR/WCS friends and col-

leagues wish her success in her new position.  Outside of work, Red enjoys 
spending time with her husband, son and two cats.  She is also the number one 

fan of the Las Vegas Raiders and the Las Vegas Golden Knights. Congratula-
tions, Red! 

WCS WILL BE CLOSED  
MONDAY, MAY 25, 2020  

IN OBSERVANCE OF  
MEMORIAL DAY  

ENJOY THE HOLIDAY 

C O N T A C T  W C S  
 

Department of Business and Industry Division of Industrial Relations Workers ’ Compensa-
tion Section  

 
 S O U T H E R N  N E V A D A  
(702) 486-9080/Fax: (702) 486-8712 

 
N O R T H E R N  N E V A D A  
(775) 684-7270/Fax: (775) 687-6305 

 
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Home/ 

 
WCSHelp@business.nv.gov 
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https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/Calendar/A/
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